Ramen with Smoky Pork Belly

RamenThere are three Japanese volunteers that live in the same town as Jen and I. We had them over for dinner several months ago (tacos al pastor) and received a gift of a smoked pork belly from Japan that was sealed for shelf life. Since receiving that gift, I’ve eyed the pork belly on our shelf, waiting for the day when I’d open it and have the Japanese volunteers over for my best take on ramen. Then our cat climbed up onto the shelf where the pork sat and tore open the package thus initiating a three day spree of smoked pork belly gluttony. Unfortunately we weren’t able to coordinate with the Japanese volunteers to have them over. But I made ramen in their honor anyways. My noodles need work but the pork belly on top hid all errors.

I had trouble getting the sheets of noodles as thin as I wanted them with the floured whiskey bottle I used as a rolling pin.

I had trouble getting the sheets of noodles as thin as I wanted them with the floured whiskey bottle I used as a rolling pin.

One thought on “Ramen with Smoky Pork Belly

  1. mat

    Ramen? that is bold. I have always wanted to try to make ramen from scratch but the ancient ways of the japanese pig seemed daunting

    Reply

Leave a Reply

